The Peggy O’Brien Book Prize

We are now accepting applications for the 2019 Peggy O’Brien Book Prize. Named in honour of Professor Peggy O’Brien, a founder of the Irish Association for American Studies, the biennial prize of 500 Euro is awarded for the best single-authored monograph published in American Studies.

Applicants are welcome from any field or period, covering American topics. Books must have a publication date in 2017, 2018, or 2019, and must be published in English.

Applications should include three copies of the book, as well as the author’s name, contact information, and a brief author biography. Unfortunately, copies cannot be returned. Please note, at the time of application, the author must be a member of the IAAS. Applications should be received by December 31, 2019, at:

Attn: Dr. Katherine Fama

Peggy O’Brien Book Prize

School of English, Drama, and Film

University College Dublin

Belfield, Dublin 14


For more information, please contact or consult our webpage.



Past winners

2017: Daniel Geary for Beyond Civil Rights: The Moynihan Report and its Legacy.

Daniel Geary is Mark Pigott Associate Professor in U.S. History at Trinity College Dublin and is also the author of Radical Ambition: C. Wright Mills, the Left, and American Social Thought.

IAAS Vice-Chair Dara Downey and winner of the 2017 Book Prize, Dan Geary


2015: Alan Gibbs for Contemporary American Trauma Narratives

Alan Gibb prize





2013: Catherine Gander for Muriel Rukeyser and Documentary: the Poetics of Connection.

Peggy O'Brien and Catherine Gander